Age Appropriate

Parental Reviews Of Non-Parental Books

The Strange Case of Origami Yoda

Title: The Strange Case of Origami Yoda
Author: Tom Angleberger
Publisher: Amulet Books
Number of Pages: 160
Advertised Age Level: Middle Grades (ages 9-12)

Age and Grade of Main Character(s): 12 years/6th grader

Language: no profanity
Sex: none
Drug/Alcohol Use: none
Violence: one student “attacks” another student in defense of a girl but no violence
Social Issues: peer pressure, acceptance of those who are different, first crushes
Suggested Movie Grade: G

Premise: Sixth grader Tommy usually finds classmate Dwight to be both strange and annoying. The kid certainly doesn’t seem to care if everyone thinks he’s a freak. Dwight is always getting into trouble and acting in strange ways. Tommy’s other pals barely tolerate Dwight who often sits at their lunch table. But one day, Dwight uses his one true talent – origami – to fashion an origami Yoda puppet. Oddly, Origami Yoda is nothing like his creator Dwight. Yoda offers great advice for solving all sorts of problems and at times it seems he can even predict the future. Before Tommy can understand what’s happening, the entire school is turning to Origami Yoda for advice.

Since Tommy himself seeks some pretty important information, he needs to know for sure if Origami Yoda is truly a guiding spirit imbued with The Force or just an elaborate hoax perpetrated by Dwight as just another one of his oddball schemes. Tommy interviews those affected by Origami Yoda and compiles a case file in hopes of finding out the truth before he can make a complete fool of himself by following Yoda’s advice.

Comments: Nothing at all offensive in this story. While Dwight is certainly an unusual character, he’s not friendless nor do the other kids pick on him or bully him.

Age Appropriateness: ages 9 to 12 (younger kids might appreciate it as well)

Single Post Navigation

8 thoughts on “The Strange Case of Origami Yoda

  1. This is exactly the sort of information that I’m looking for when I am choosing books from my 2nd grader. THANK YOU!

  2. I take exception to the review of this book (and others in the series). I find the crude language and “bathroom” humor in this book unacceptable for my 9 y.o. I am disappointed in this review site. It is fortunate that I check the reviews on more that one site before I o.k. a book for reading.

    • ageappropriate on said:

      Dave – First, please note that this review refers to the first book in this series. As I have not read the other books, I cannot speak to their age appropriateness, and I in no way, shape or form offer any suggestions regarding those titles in this review. For you to imply that my age suggestion applies to the entire series is not accurate.

      Secondly, I have also checked other review sites which also offer the opinion that this book is acceptable for 9 year olds. I would be interested to know which sites you found that emphatically stated that this book is not appropriate for that age group.

      Finally, you are obviously entitled to determine what type of material is appropriate or inappropriate for YOUR 9 year old. I stand by my assertion – I did not find anything in this book to be offensive for the nine year olds I have encountered in my experience as a parent – nothing that they do not hear on a day-to-day basis on child-appropriate television programs or even at school on the playground or at lunch socializing with other children. Please feel free to look to other review sites that are more in line with your parochial viewpoint and protective parenting style.

      • Christina on said:

        I’m two years late, but I just saw this for the first time, and your response was nothing short of amazing. 😀

      • Christina on said:

        Oh lordy it’s too late. And I think there is no way to edit. I apparently cannot math this late. Three. Three years too late. Almost to the day, even. If it hadn’t just flipped past midnight.

        I’ll use the excuse that I was thinking “too late” and put “two” instead of “three”. Yeah. That’s the ticket.

    • Carmen Avila-Dillon on said:

      I completely agree with you. The references to public displays of affection and crushes is inappropriate. This book might of been a good book without the boy girl emotional stuff that goes on.

  3. A Mom on said:

    I just finished reading book 1 with my 8 year old son, and found it completely appropriate, and I’m excited that he loved it so much! He’s looking forward to reading the whole series, and as a mom, isn’t that what you want for your child? To foster a love of reading?

Leave a Reply

